When a Writer Tries to Write His Own Story

The absolute biggest challenge I am facing as a writer trying to execute a big plan, like going to another continent and covering their sports, is getting the right people to listen. And, falling short on that, getting lots of people to listen with money. I have been unable to generate the interest of people willing to help fund or publish this venture. Which happens, I’m a new writer and people are always cautious about what is new. I am in no way short on comments that it is an interesting and worthwhile project, but turning that into interest that has funding behind it has been tough.

The initial story I wrote for myself is that I would find someone to publish these stories and pay me for them. Simply enough, right? Good luck Mr. Yeoman. I have not received any real response from anyone….at all. A few secretaries/assistants have responded with encouragement of continuing to speak with editors, and I have, but it will take some more time to knock that wall down. “So we beat on, boats against the currents,” etc. The back-up story that I wrote for myself was to start an IndieGogo campaign. I currently have $15. I am not a fundraiser, I suppose I will have to learn. Or become a better known writer. Hm. It is all part of The Journey Getting There, I suppose.

Positive aspects are that I continue to build relationships with people in all sorts of positions. I have contacts in New York, Boston, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Darfur, Senegal, Vermont, and a number of others. You get the idea though, this is a big project that covers a large cross section of people and plenty of the Earth. I can’t possibly do this on my own and I thank every one of these people for their help so far. It only gets bigger from here. That is the truly interesting aspect of all this, I keep finding more to write about. Everyone wants their story told, and most are worth telling. I will keep working so I can tell their stories through this soccer blog and the book I wish to write. It seems like the right thing to do.

Please visit and fund my IndieGogo campaign for this project!

About matthewryeoman

Matthew Yeoman is a freelance writer currently living in Vancouver, Canada. He has written for Vancouver Whitecaps FC, Simply Computing, and WSI Milton. He has long been interested in soccer and Africa and has combined these two passions into the work you are reading on this site. Read up on his other work at www.MatthewYeoman.com
This entry was posted in The Journey Getting There and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When a Writer Tries to Write His Own Story

  1. Paulina Czarnecki says:

    Good luck and don’t give up! šŸ˜€

Leave a comment